Understanding State Nominated Skilled Visas

There are two types of visas that fall under the State Nominated Skilled Visa: a. Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) visa, b. Nominated (provisional) (subclass 489). Both types of visas allow migrants to live and work in the Australian state they have chosen; the former is permanent while the latter is only temporary. The territory government(s) will be providing the applicant information regarding the employment and housing.

The following states in Australia offer nomination:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia

Nomination by State or Territory Government / SkillSelect helps Australia in managing its skilled migration program and addresses skill shortages in regional areas. To be eligible for a nomination, an applicant must satisfy the requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP). But being nominated by the region or state where the applicant has applied does not guarantee that the DIBP will approve their visa nor does it guarantee the security of a job. If an applicant is nominated, though, he/she must commit to working and living – for two years – in Australia upon arrival; the applicant must complete a settlement survey every six months and bring sufficient funds good for at least three months to cover settlement and other related costs.

Before applying, be sure to read and understand the requirements for eligibility.