New Visa Regional Centre in Singapore To Be Launched

Passport for processing visa

Singapore – The Five Country Conference (FCC) which include countries like Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the UK and the United States will be launching the first shared VAC (visa application center) in Singapore on March 25, a statement from the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship said.

According to the statement, the FCC member countries facilitated the establishment of the centre to bolster the credibility and security of immigration services as well as to improve the efficiency of their services. The centre will also provide lower costs for their services. The department also said that the centre is expected to provide applicants with better services, convenience and accessibility to their services, especially in the Southeast Asia.

DIAC said the centre will have longer office hours and will have internet booths with online tracking ability to help applicant monitor and know their respective application status. The department said that although visa application will be evaluated and approved by the Australian immigration high commission, no centre staff will be concerned in the outcome of the applications. The department expects an improvement in services for applicants of every country through the facilities of the shared visa centre as well as save money on infrastructure and staff costs.

The new visa application centre will start its operation on March 25 with address at No. 20 Cecil Street, No. 11 02-05 Equity Plaza, Singapore 049705.