Are you Confused with DIAC and DIBP?

Here’s is a trivia regarding the immigration department of Australia to avoid confusion for applicants who are applying for an Australian visas.

The Department of Immigration and Boarder Protection (DIBP) wasn’t always called DIBP. From 1945 to our current year, the immigration had 8 name changes before calling it DIBP.

Here are the former name of the immigration department of Australia.

  • • 1945 – 1974 – Department of Immigration (DI)
  • • 1974-1975 – Department of Labour and Immigration (DLI)
  • • 1976-1987 – Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (DIEA)
  • • 1987-1993 – Department of Immigration, Local Government and Ethnic Affairs (DILGEA)
  • • 1993-1996 – Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs (DIEA)
  • • 1996-2001 – Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs (DIMA)
  • • 2007-2013 – Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC)
  • • 2013 – Current – Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP)

Don’t get confused though if some still address the Immigration department as DIAC, since DIBP was formed last 18 September 2013. DIAC and DIBP are not separate agencies, it was just a change of name.

So the next time that you will be applying for an Australian visa, you will not get confused with the agencies you will be sending your documents to.